Opticon - the journey

Opticon - the journey

Part 1 of my Opticon 2023 series

The Journey

My last Optimizely/Episerver conference was in Miami 2019, during the pre-pandemic era. It doesnt seem that long ago but a lot has happened since then - Episerver became Optimizely, making strategic acquisitions on the way and strengthening it's position as a market leading DXP.

Super excited to get the opportunity again to attend Opticon despite the long journey from Sydney to San Diego. Add in the misfortune of flying on my birthday. I did however get a birthday cake and wishes from my wife and daughter before I left. Plus, I'll get to celebrate my birthday in two different time zones.

Touchdown

As expected I didn't get any sleep on the plane. After an exhausting 24 hours which included spending 4 hours at LAX due to flight delays, I finally arrived in sunny San Diego. The jet lag was killing me!

What's next

It's going to be a jam packed few days, starting with the OMVP summit. This will be my first OMVP summit, nervous and excited at the same time to be rubbing shoulders with the elite in the Optimizely community.

The conference agenda looks exciting with breakout sessions and hands on workshops, I am having a hard time choosing which ones to attend. Particularly keen to learn more about the CMS roadmap and experimentation workshops.

Looking forward to networking, getting insights into DXP, CMS, Commerce and Experimentation and catching up with the Optimizely community.

But first up, some much needed rest!